I made a Duvet!

Last year I shared Mike’s and my busy Labour Day weekend with you and in it I showed you a picture of the duvet cover I made for our bed. While I am crazy proud of it, I have to admit it was crazy simple to make. If you want to make one too (it is so hard to find ones that I like) this is all you have to do. Get a sewing machine, some pins and two flat sheets (for a queen duvet I used double sheets). Yeah, there really aren’t many materials that you need.

IMG_7018

What do we do now? Well, but the nice sides of the sheets together and pin all the sides, if you have a pattern you can try to match them, I got around this by using one side patterned and the other plain. Allow cats to “help.”

Next step? Sew three of the sides shut, leaving the bottom. I then did a little bit of sewing on the sides of the bottom, about 6 cm from each end. Then to make the new cover stay on my duvet better (I hate how they always slide apart), I attached little scraps to the top inside corners and added a fabric loop to the top corners of my duvet.

That’s it! It’s just that easy. I really don’t know much about sewing and even I managed to crank one out in about 1 hour and the only reason it took that long was because I three kitty “helpers.”

Good luck if you decide to give making a duvet a go 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Barkis, Home, Oliver

Leave a Reply

