Wedding Details – the Flowers

As I have mentioned, I decided to DIY several things for the wedding. The one that was the most time consuming and stressful was the flowers. Sure, I could have forked over the money and had someone else put together a bunch of beautiful real bouquets for me, but those are so sad when they die 😦 Also, they are crazy expensive. I’m pretty sure I would have been looking at several hundred dollars to have my bouquet, four bridesmaids bouquets, 9 boutineers and something for the flower girl. Instead I spent about $50 and had them all! How you ask? Why I used paper!

1459813_483227668458018_213086431_nOne of the bridesmaids bouquets

Thanks to the wonders of the internet I found instructions on how to make kusudama flowers (origami) and rolled roses. Sure, it involved a bunch of cutting, folding and rolling, but it really wasn’t too bad. I’d guess I spent about 3-4 hours working on the flowers, but it was spread out over several months. I know even have my bouquet resting in a beautiful vase (received at one of my showers) on our dinning table. How many people get to do that after the wedding?

1421553_10153455640100532_952444553_nMike’s Boutineer

Now the hard questions that one is supposed to ask BEFORE undergoing a DIY project for their wedding:

1) Did I save money? YES!

2) Was it something important to me? Yes

3) Was the time + effort worth the outcome? Yes

4) Do I regret making my own paper flowers? Not for a second!

Over all score? Love them, and so happy that I did it that way. I don’t think I would have been as happy with real flowers as I was with my home made ones.

3 Comments

Filed under wedding

3 responses to “Wedding Details – the Flowers

  1. Mel

    I’m going to be doing this too. I love the way origami flowers look. You can make them in so many different colours and patterns and make them truly unique. Plus, you’ll have them forever. Nice job!

    • kirstenh

      I am still so happy that I did my flowers this way. I have them in several places around the house now. Heck, my flower girl still has her big flower and loves it. I can’t wait to see yours whenever you get to do them!

  2. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

