Giving Thanks

This year Mike and I decided to host Thanksgiving supper for his family (mine of course being in another part of the country – maybe next year). This was the first time either of us had hosted a big holiday dinner, either together or apart, and also the first time we’d had his family over for supper! I’m glad to say, it went off without a hitch, and I didn’t give anyone food poisoning 🙂

Mike’s mom picked up the Turkey for us and we provided the rest of the food. I spent the entire day cooking as the Turkey was a whopping 30 lbs! Now that’s a big bird. I also spent a little bit of time painting on a table cloth as the start of a new tradition. I discovered this idea on pinterest. If you don’t know what pinterest is, I both feel sorry for and jealous all at the same time. Most amazing thing and one of the best ways to waste/lose time.

The idea behind this is that you buy a plain light colored table cloth (cotton) and every year at Thanksgiving you use this cloth. Everyone writes something that they are thankful for on it and over the years they build up. I love this idea and can’t wait to see what our tablecloth looks like in 50 years!

I think I’m already looking forward to Thanksgiving next year 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under celebrations, Holidays

2 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. Mel

    Cooking Thanksgiving supper is something I look forward to every year. I’m going to have to get a table cloth and try that out! It makes me sad to think of all of the comments I’ve missed out on already. I’m going to start this tradition this year. Thanks for the idea!

    • kirstenh

      Let me know how yours turns out. I love it already, we already of have great memories on it, and it’s only one year old!

Leave a Reply

