Growing my Own

Ever since I was little I have wanted my own vegetable garden. Our house growing up didn’t have any spaces that got enough sun, besides the spot we grew tomatoes in every year. So, I waited, I grew up and ended up in apartments. Strangely enough it’s hard to have a full garden in an apartment, sure you can container garden, and I did. The year I managed to grow some tomatoes was great, I was thrilled and counted each and every one of them. I loved those tomatoes, even though they were small and not very great (the container I was using was a little too small). Now that I’ve moved into a house I can finally have a proper garden . . . so, Mike  dug up the old unused garden in the yard for me and I went town planting vegetables and herbs!

What goodies am I attempting to grow? Well, lets start the list, the surprisingly long list for my first ever garden:

Vegetables

  • 4 cabbage plants
  • 3 broccoli plants (one plant went MIA between the garden centre and the garden!)
  • 4 cauliflower plants
  • 1 cucumber plant
  • 9 tomato plants (several varities)

Herbs

  • stevia
  • oregano
  • bay leaf
  • parsley
  • chives
  • basil (6 plants!)

I guess now we wait, while I water, watch, feed, weed and hope. I’ll try to keep you in the loop about my upcoming (hopefully) harvest!

Happy Growing!

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening

One response to “Growing my Own

  1. Pingback: Thirty Years Young | Kirsten's Life

Leave a Reply

