Chocolate Pie

Today is a day for pie. No, I don’t mean Pi day, that happened back in March (March 14 to be exact). What I mean is a day to slow down, get your hands dirty and to make something delicious to share. It’s a big Pie Party across the globe, being shared on the Internet. Last year I was too late for the Pie Party, I found out about it AFTER it happened, through a blog post by one of my favorite food bloggers, Shauna from Gluten Free Girl & the Chef. Shauna was one of the first food bloggers I found after going gluten-free and while I’ve never spoken to her, emailed her, or even let her know I exist, I have enjoyed her recipes and words for years now. Since she was again participating and this time I found out in time I felt like I should try to do her proud . . . so I made a pie, from another food blogger. Wait, was that even right of me to do that? If not, too bad. See I love Shauna’s writing and photos, but I prefer the food that Elana at Elana’s Pantry. She just fits my prefered way to eat a little better.

Since today, the official day of the Pie Party I am out of the house for at least 15 hours, I made my pie last night and took photos of it this morning, at 545am. I’m sorry if they are not great, I was tired and there wasn’t as much light as I wanted. Still, they are pictures of pie, pie that I then proceeded to eat for breakfast. Nothing like a sweet treat to start your day. I know it might be a little late to make a pie for tonight, but go out, pie a pie from a local bakery, farm or market (just not a cheap, generic pie, there is no love and no slow in one of those!). If you just enough time to heat the oven, pie a pre-made but uncooked pie and at least take the time to cook it, cool it and share it. That is the most important part, taking the time to share the pie . . . after all, food is community.

Mmmm, pie. Maybe I should start bringing a few more baked goods back on here, I haven’t shared a cake, cupcake, pie or anything in a long time before today!

4 Comments

Filed under Cakes

4 responses to “Chocolate Pie

  1. Pingback: Pie Party Review | Kerry's Best Recipes

  2. Pingback: Pie Party Review | Lesser Homes & Gardens

  3. That looks delicious Kirsten! Save me a bite!

Leave a Reply

