February’s Book – Tailchaser’s Song

As you all know at the beginning of the year I set two goals, one of them being to read one book a month. The book for January was Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips, of which you can find my thoughts on here. My book for February was Tailchaser’s Song by Tad Williams.

Matt loaned this book to me since he figured I would enjoy it. It’s great having friends you can share books with 🙂 I’m glad he did send me on my way with it as I quite happily carried it around with me for the better part of a month. Pulling it out to read every time I found myself waiting on something!

Following in the description found on the back of the book:

“Meet Fritti Tailchaser, a ginger tom cat of rare courage and curiosity, a born survivor in a world of heroes and villains, of powerful feline gods and whiskery legends about those strange, furless, erect creatures called M’an. Join Tailchaser on his magical quest to rescue his catfriend Hushpad – a quest that will take him all the way to cat hell and beyond . . . .”

After reading the back I saw his point, I have two cats what is not to love about a book staring a cat? I’ll be honest, I was leery, very unsure about the book. I didn’t think it really sounded like something I was overly interested in. But hey, Matt knows me fairly well so if he thought I would like it, I’ll try to trust his judgement and give it a try (after all, he suggested Brida, which as we all know I LOVED).

For the first little bit I was sure I’d been right, that I wasn’t very interested in it. Then all of a sudden I became invested in the characters and I couldn’t put the darn book down. It took me over a month to read the first part of the book, but the bulk of it was read over the course of a couple of lunch breaks and an evening in front of the fire. I hate to admit it, but darn it all, Matt was right! (don’t anyone tell him I said that!).

Verdict – another book that you all should head out and read!

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “February’s Book – Tailchaser’s Song

  1. Pingback: May’s Book – Hybrids | Kirsten's Life

  2. Pingback: Aprils’s Book – Humans | Kirsten's Life

  3. Pingback: March’s Book – Hominids | Kirsten's Life

Leave a Reply

