January’s Book – God’s Behaving Badly

As you all know at the beginning of the year I set two goals, one of them being to read one book a month. The book for January was “Gods Behaving Badly” by Marie Phillips.

I picked this book up at the Waterstones in the Pearson Airport when flying back to Halifax after the holidays. My only requirement while shopping as something that seem relatively light and like a fairly easy read. I’ll be honest, I know I’m not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but in this case I totally did. I just liked the look of it!

Following in the released description for this book(as found both inside the cover and on the Chapters Website):

“Being immortal isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Life’s hard for a Greek god in the twenty-first century: nobody believes in you any more, even your own family doesn’t respect you, and you’re stuck in a dilapidated hovel in North London with too many siblings and not enough hot water. But for Artemis (goddess of hunting, professional dog walker), Aphrodite (goddess of beauty, telephone sex operator) and Apollo (god of the sun, TV psychic) there’s no way out… until a meek cleaner and her would-be boyfriend come into their lives and turn the world upside down. “

So, what did I think of this book? I enjoyed it so much that by the time I landed in Halifax (five hours later) I had almost finished it. I was right, it was an easy read and fairly light. The Gods were portrayed in an interesting and very human manner and the two starring mortals were flawed, personable with many realistic qualities. The only thing I will hold against this book is that it’s not for all ages. There are some overt sexual references and there is swearing. So, totally acceptable for older kids (parent depending) and adults.

It’s books like this one that remind me why I so enjoy picking up a new book when I travel. Would I have picked this one up on a normal day in the book store, most likely not. Am I glad I picked it? Very much so.

Final verdict? Go out, pick it up, give it a read.

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “January’s Book – God’s Behaving Badly

  1. Pingback: Aprils’s Book – Humans | Kirsten's Life

  2. Pingback: March’s Book – Hominids | Kirsten's Life

  3. Pingback: February’s Book – Tailchaser’s Song | Kirsten's Life

Leave a Reply

