Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

It’s not Friday, nor is it my usual Sunday, but today seems like a good day for a Five Minute Friday post.  I know I missed the last couple of weeks, it seems like sometimes life just gets away from me.  That said, I’m back (in a sing-song sort of voice!).

Thanks again to Lisa-Jo, AKA The Gypsy Mama, for coming up with this great idea.  Now if only I can remember to do it each and every week, and maybe on a Friday one time too!  Just a reminder, this is how the whole Five Minute Friday thing works:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Go all out encouraging the writer who linked up before you.

This week, we’re writing on Ordinary.  Okay, ready, set…GO!

Ordinary, wow, where to even begin.  My life is ordinary, and yet, I guess in its own way it is not.  My friends are ordinary, but again, not.  My cats are…okay, one is most certainly not.  My world, without a doubt.  I don’t think I do much that is not ordinary, and I kind of like it that way.  See, this way, when I do that one things that is extraordinary, it’s going to blow everyone away.  Sure, some people think that being a Guide leader is anything but ordinary, but really hundreds, nay, thousands of women are Guide Leaders, and that’s just in Canada. 

I babysit, maybe some people think that is.  Nope, just kind of pathetic that at 29 I’m still babysitting part-time. 

You know what.  I like that my life is ordinary.  It means that I’m living a real life, with real people.  There are real thoughts, real hopes and real dreams.  I have real shortcoming, and real faults.  Being Ordinary really isn’t all that ordinary.  I think in its own way it is a very special way of living.  You’re saying, I am happy and willing to be just me.  Not who someone else wants me to be, but who I am at this very moment. 

Being ordinary, and living an ordinary life is what makes me the person that i am.  You know what, I kind of like who I am.  What about you, are you ordinary and happy, or are you someone “special” and hidden from yourself?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

  1. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Ordinary | Details of Me

Leave a Reply

