A Journey Taken with Brida

I will be the first to admit I’m not a literary genius or superstar.  I don’t know prose from … name some other random literary term.  What I do know, is that I like to read.  Typically I’m drawn to SciFi and to Fantasy, although I’ll read most things that cross my path.  Not too long ago Matt read a book that he then told me I should read.  Here is the part that stuck out the most and drove me to want to read it from his description: It is a book about an Irish girl written by a Brazilian.  Yep, how could I possibly pass that up?

The book in question is Brida  by Internationally Best Selling author Paulo Coelho.  I’m not going to lie, before this moment I had never heard of Coelho, but hey, as I stated in my opening line, I’m no literary genius.

Wow, this book was amazing.  Once I started reading it I could not put it down.  I read it while cooking supper, I read it before bed, I read it on lunch break, in the airport, on the plane, in my hotel room and if I hadn’t finished it before my car ride the next morning I would have read it in the car!  This book makes you think, it makes you look at things a little differently, and it makes you feel.  You feel for the main character, Brida, and for all of the supporting characters and the roles they play in her life, in her journey through life.  I’m not going to tell you the story, I’m not even going to give a synopsis.  Go to your library or local bookstore and pick up a copy, it’s worth the read,

I loved this book so much that I’m already planning on re-reading it.  And I finished it less than a week ago.  As soon as I finish the book I’m currently reading I’m opening Brida back up and diving back into her world.  Once I go through her journey one more time I plan on seeking out the rest of Coelho’s books.  If they are anywhere near as moving and well written as Brida is I have no doubts I will enjoy them.

Yep, I think I may have found a new favorite author!

**both images are from the Haper Collins (UK) website.

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “A Journey Taken with Brida

  1. Pingback: February’s Book – Tailchaser’s Song | Kirsten's Life

  2. Mel

    You should read “The Devil and Miss Prym” by him. Amazing book!

Leave a Reply

