Scotland Part 9 – Stirling

** For Glasgow posts please check parts 1, parts 2, parts 3 and parts 4 of my trip!**

**For Edinburgh posts please check part 5part 6, and part 7 of my trip**

**For the Highlands please check part 8 of my trip**

Welcome to the final day of my Scottish adventure, the town and castle of Stirling.  Also the home to the Wallace Monument, however I only got to see that from afar.  This was on of those times where I realized that November was not the best time to go, after all the sun sets WAY too early.  If I’d gone in June I could have walked over to the monument and still have had daylight.  Oh well, it’s just one more reason for me to go back.

The town of Stirling is about half way between Glasgow and Edinburgh, therefore a quick train ride away.  As I’d already taken a chance to figure out the trains in Glasgow when heading to Edinburgh, it was a no-brainer to stick with them.  Besides, trains are far more comfortable than buses and if travelling on the off hours, really not much more expensive.  Thirty minutes after hopping on my East bound train I arrived in Stirling and set off.  I wandered all through Old Stirling on my way up to the castle, even stumbling upon a great comic shop which had Doctor Who stuff, including action figures of the tenth doctor, my personal favorite 🙂

Right Stirling.  As I was saying Old Stirling was great, lots to look at, many old buildings, an incredible hostel (don’t I wish I’d stayed there!), several things to read on my hike up the hill, and the piece de resistance, Stirling Castle.  It’s been mentioned before that I have a thing for old abandoned buildings, well, I also have a thing for old building in general.  Castles being one of the best!  There are so many things to look at, so many stories to imagine and hear, so many images that pop into your head as you explore.  Yep, I love castles.  Stirling was no exception to the rule, I wandered around for about and hour, and then joined a tour.  There were so many little nuggets of info that I won’t bore you with, because they just aren’t the same if you’re not there! 

From Stirling Castle I was able to look out over the Scottish Country side and see the Wallace Monument.  With the fall colors and the setting sun it made for a resplendent image.  Boy am I glad I got to at least see it.  Hopefully next time I can actually visit it. 

As the sun set, I slowly made my way back down through Old Stirling to the more modern looking parts.  Here I wandered into a Marks & Spencer where I picked up a Canadian Maple smoothie (I thought that was kind of cool) and some sort of salad for supper.  Just outside of M&S I ran into a guy canvassing for some charity and we struck up a conversation.  He was very interested to here what I thought of his country and wanted to now about Canada as he was planning a trip over to BC in the next year.  I told him I didn’t know much about BC, but I could tell him about Ontario and the East Coast.  After about 20 minutes I headed off and he got back to work canvassing.  Meeting random strangers and bonding over something is one of the best parts of travelling 🙂

Well, we have made it through all the highlights of my whirlwind tour of Scotland.  I am still planning on more post, just to highlight some of my favorite pictures that didn’t make it into all fo these posts.  There won’t be much writing, but I have heard that a picture is worth a thousand words!

4 Comments

Filed under Travel, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Scotland Part 9 – Stirling

  1. Pingback: Scotland Part 10 – the last photos | Kirsten's Life

  2. I loved Stirling too. Good destination for a day trip 🙂

  3. Mum

    Sure sounds like you had a wonderful trip, although short. I am sure you will go again and experience so much more of Scotland. I do envy you, I would love to travel the way you do and enjoy the experience.xxoo

  4. Great post! Thanks for sharing and inspire!

Leave a Reply

