Five Minute Friday: Rest

Here I go tackling week two of this Five Minute Friday thing, all though it’s beginning to look more like a Sunday thing for me!  Friday was busy, so was Saturday.  Not gonna lie, today was too, but I finally found some time 🙂  As a reminder, this is a challenge thing hosted by Lisa Jo over at The Gypsy Mama.  This week she has challenged us to write for five minutes straight without stopping to back track, think, or edit on Rest.  Doesn’t sound very restful to me :S

Here goes nothing…

I sometimes think I don’t leave myself enough time for rest.  I’m a go-go-go king of person.  The busier I am, the happier I tend to be.  Heck, until last weekend I hadn’t had a weekend where I could just rest for, oh, I don’t know, the WHOLE summer!  Last weekend I didn’t have to be anywhere, I didn’t have to do anything and I could just rest. 

R-E-S-T. 

You know what…I was bored.  I was so bored that I got mad that Hurricane Irene really didn’t bother us in Nova Scotia, so bored that all I could do was sit around and whine.  I don’t like to rest, I hate to sit still and I abore being bored.  What does that make me?  I thought rest was supposed to be one of those things people crave,.

Maybe it’s because things I find restful still usually involve me doing something.  Maybe going for a walk in the forest, going kayaking, reading a book outside…are you noticing the same trend I am?  For me it would seem rest isn’t sitting around being still and quite.  For me it’s being outside where it’s peaceful, relaxing and real.  When I have the chance to connect with nature, even if for just a few minutes I feel rested. 

I guess even I can rest, maybe just not in the traditional way that people tend to think when rest is mentioned to them.

STOP

Leave a comment

Filed under Five Minute Friday

Leave a Reply

