My life in bookform

Today I came across a really neat idea, to write a sentence for each year of my life.  Either the highlight of that year of your life, or some large historical event from it.  Since I can’t actually remember the first few years of my life, that one won’t work for me.  Historical events would be cool, but really, there are a TON of people on the internet doing that right now.  So, instead I’m going for the bestselling fiction book according to the New York times for the week of my birthday. 

Age 0, 1982 – The Parsifal Mosaic by Robert Ludlum

Age 1, 1983 – Return of the Jedi adapted by Joan D. Vinge

Age 2, 1984 – Full Circle by Danielle Steel

Age 3, 1985 – Skeleton Crew by Stephen King

Age 4, 1986 – Last of the Breed by Louise L’Amour

Age 5, 1987 – Misery by Stephen King 

Age 6, 1988 – Zoya by Danielle Steel

Age 7, 1989 – The Russia House by John le Carre

Age 8, 1990 – The Burden of Proof by Scott Turow

Age 9, 1991 – Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss (was number 2 the previous year!)

Age 10, 1992 – Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss (Wow, still number 1?!?!)

Age 11, 1993 – The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller (interestingly Oh, the Places You’ll Go! is still on the list – number 5)

Age 12, 1994 – The Chamber by John Grisham (and yes, Oh, the Places You’ll Go! is on the list again – number 4)

Age 13, 1995 – The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller (same as 1993 may have been on in 1994, I didn’t notice.  Oh and guess what?  Oh, the Places You’ll Go! is once again on the list – number 4)

Age 14, 1996 – The Runaway Jury by John Grisham (and yes, Dr. Seuss is still on the board – number 6)

Age 15, 1997 – Plum Island by Nelson DeMille (I’m beginning to think I should just tell you if Dr. Seuss is ever NOT on the list – number 3)

Age 16, 1998 – A Widow for One Year by John Irving (still there, maybe because of high school graduation time? – number 5)

Age 17, 1999 – Hannibal by Thomas Harris (still there – number 6 – but so are the first two Harry Potter books – numbers 2 and 5)

Age 18, 2000 – The Indwelling by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins (yep, still there, and now we have three Harry Potter Books)

Age 19, 2001 – “P” is for Peril by Sue Grafton (after at least 11 years, Oh, the Places You’ll Go! is NOT on the list.  There are also no Harry Potter books)

Age 20, 2002 – In this Mountain by Jan Karon

Age 21, 2003 – The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

Age 22, 2004 – The Songs of Susannah by Stephen King

Age 23, 2005 – The Mermaid Chair, by Sue Monk Kidd

Age 24, 2006 – The Husband by Dean Koontz

Age 25, 2007 – A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (amazing book I might add)

Age 26, 2008 – Nothing to Lose by Lee Child

Age 27, 2009 – Skin Trade by Laurell K. Hamilton

Age 28, 2010 – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

Age 29, 2011 – Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton

Okay, I have to admit, that was WAY more interesting than I was expecting!  In particular that whole thing with Oh, the Places You’ll Go! showing up for at least eleven years. 

I had never even heard of several of these books, so I think I might have to make reading the New York Times bestseller for the week of my birth a life challenge.  At least I’ve already read a few! 

Oh yeah, aren’t you glad I’m 29 and NOT 92?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “My life in bookform

  1. That’s a cool idea! I find it very amusing that a Dr. Seuss book stayed on the list for so long. I loved those books when I was younger (OK, I still do…) and memorized so many of them. I hear a title now and the whole book goes through my head word-for-word.

    To Kirsten’s mom, I never read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, but everyone who has mentioned reading it said it took them forever to get into it (some people even started it numerous times until they had to force themselves to continue), but everyone liked it once they got past a certain point.

    • kirstenh

      I too still LOVE Dr. Seuss…Green Eggs and Ham is one of my favorite books to this day! it was a pretty neat experiment and I’m really glad I did it. I might keep checking in yearly from now on 🙂

  2. What a fun idea for a post! It’s heartening to see Dr. Seuss so well represented. Danielle Steel, not so much 🙂

  3. Mum

    Wow!! That was really interesting. I have read some of the books, heard of lots more and never heard of several. Can not believe Dr Seuss was on for so long, and I hate to admit, I do not remember reading it.(Do you remember me reading it to you and Brian?) I wonder if they will look at me a bit strange if I take it out of the kids department.
    I just finished the first Stieg Larsson’s book “The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo”, and though it took me a loog time to get into it, it is really good and I am looking forword to the next two.
    Thanks, xxooMum

Leave a Reply

