Scotland Part 3 – More of Glasgow!

**see first two posts here and here**

In the last post I covered the University of Glasgow, the Botantic Gardens and Kelvingrove Art Gallery.  So, what does that leave for today?  Well, there is still the Peoples Palace, the Glasgow Science Centre and Tower, the Squinty Bridge, the pedestrian streets, the Willows Tea Room and the Glasgow Cathedral (next post will be about just the Cathedral).  I guess that means there is still a lot of ground to cover!  I have to say, my favorite name of the above is without a doubt the Squinty Bridge – not the official name.  So, lets start there!

The Squinty Bridge is what Glaswegians (people from Glasgow) call the Clyde Arc.  Apparently they are very fond of nicknames, and many buildings and structures are not refered to by their true names, but instead are known by what they have been nicknames.  My tour guide informed us that in Scottish squinty means to be not straight or level, which is a very good description for the Clyde Arc, as the supportive structure crosses from one side of the road to the other.  I’m kind of partial to calling it Squinty Bridge because it’s easier to remember, far more fun to say, and just sounds way more interesting than the Clyde Arc. 

Just a stones throw from the afore-mentioned Squinty Bridge one can find the Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow Tower.  As much as I love Science centres I didn’t spend anytime exploring Glasgow’s.  I figured that since I only had 7 days in the country surely I should try to see as many other things as possible.  That said, I would like to spend some time in it next time I’m in town.  The Glasgow Tower is part of the Science Centre as was on the top of my to-do list.  Who wouldn’t want to go up a tower that has an observational platform at 105 m?  Okay, lets change that statement, who wouldn’t want to be able to get awesome photos of a city from that vantage point?  Better?  You can only imagine my disappointment when I discovered that it was closed for the season…without a doubt, I’m going back in the Summer months, if only to go up the tower this time!

Another place that I quite wanted to see was The Willow Tea Rooms on Sauchiehall Street.  It was one of those things I’d randomly stumbled upon when I was first looking for possible things to do in Glasgow.  Being a fan of a properly brewed cup of tea how could I pass up the opportunity to visit a tea room from a bygone era?  I had purposely not looked up photos of the place prior to going as I wanted to pe properly surprised everything.  Surprised I was!  It was nothing like what I expected and at the same time everything I’d hoped for.  Oh yeah, and the ‘snack’ I decided to order was exquisite!  I requested a green tea and a meringue with cream – the tea was a lovely soft green tea, served up in a tall silver tea-pot.  I was able to enjoy three cups of tea along with my meringue.  Oh the merainge…it was £6 which seemed rather exorbitant, but when it arrived in front of me I understood the cost.  There were two giant meringues about the size of my two fists together with about 1.5 inches of whipped cream  sandwiched between the two of them.  Oh, it was so amazingly good.  I wanted to get a second one but I never managed to pass the tea room again while it was open.

Last, but not least, the pedestrian streets.  In Glasgow there are three of them: Sauchiehall, Buchanan and Argyle Streets.  I think I spent close to a full day wandering the three of them once you combined all my little visits.  I did enjoy all three, though I am most partial Buchanan Street as this street seemed a little more high-end, that and here is where you could find the House of Fraser, one of the last of the Victorian Department Stores.  I loved wandering around the House of Fraser, it very much felt like stepping back in time, and bring all the lovely stylish and modern items of clothing you can find there!  Buchanan Street is particularly lovely in the evening when everything is light up.  My absolute favorite picture that I took in Scotland was an evening shot of Buchanan street…

Next up, Glasgow Cathedral!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Scotland Part 3 – More of Glasgow!

  1. Pingback: Scotland Part 10 – the last photos | Kirsten's Life

  2. Beautiful photo of Buchanan St !

  3. Pingback: Scotland Part 9 – Stirling « Kirsten's Life

  4. Pingback: Scotland Part 8 – Scottish Highlands « Kirsten's Life

  5. Pingback: Scotland Part 7 – St. Giles Cathedral « Kirsten's Life

  6. Pingback: Scotland Part 6 – Harry Potter in Edinburgh « Kirsten's Life

  7. Pingback: Scotland Part 5 – Harry Potter in Edinburgh « Kirsten's Life

  8. Pingback: Scotland Part 4 – Edinburgh « Kirsten's Life

  9. Pingback: Scotland Part 4 – Glasgow Cathedral « Kirsten's Life

Leave a Reply

