Not another earworm – why must they always be from the 80’s?

For almost a month now I’ve had the same song stuck in my head.  Over and over, like a never ended broken record, I just keep finding myself singing under my breath “One night in Bangkok and the world’s your oyster.”  For those of you who don’t remember this fantastic piece of the 80’s allow me to remind you:

Have you returned from your trip down memory lane?  If not, go ahead, watch it again, I won’t tell.  I strongly suspect you are a little worried about my sanity at this point, singing songs from when I was but 2, longing for computer games from my childhood – surely this can’t be a good sign, can it?  Well, I’m going to go out on a limb and say I’m fine, after all, these two points are not even remotely related, they just seen that way.  “OK, so why is this specific song stuck in you head?” you ask.  I shall enlighten you.

Do you remember last May when my friend Lis and I re-found our friendship?  Well, you should, I wrote about it here.  Back then we first decided that before 2011 was up we were going to take a trip outside of North America together, and last month we finally settled on a time and place.  One year from my departure to Scotland we are heading to Bangkok to tour around Thailand.  Yes, you read that right, THAILAND!  I have dreamed about visiting Thailand for years, it’s been on the top of my to experience list for so long, only ever beat out by Australia (which I went to back in 2007 – pre-blogging days).  This means that after November I will have knocked off the top two places I dream of visiting. 

We have decided that we are going to travel through GAP Adventures, and the specific tour we are going to take is the Northern Thailand Discovery Tour.  I can’t wait, I’m going to eat authentic Thai food, ride an elephant, see amazing temples, explore exotic lands, and see and do things that will set my imagination on fire.  To make things even more exciting, since I’m already going that far away from home, I’m going to take an extra bit of time and “hop” over to Australia.  I’m going to visit with Joy and Cam, and I would also like to go up to Cairns, snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef, learn to surf, and see more of the Eastern Coast.  After all, the last time I went, I stayed around Sydney and never went further than the Blue Mountains.  Fingers crossed that I can find the time (and Money) to fit that all in.

I’ll even try to blog about the trip far more quickly than I have been about Scotland – I also promise to make it through the entire Scotland trip BEFORE I leave for Thailand!  Lets get ready to travel 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Not another earworm – why must they always be from the 80’s?

  1. Mum

    So the decision has been made! You and Lis will have a great time and I hear Gap tours are really good. I think Joy has done theirs before. This is the time to do it. I envy you:) xxooMum

Leave a Reply

