Who knew it was possible to miss DOS

Fifteen or so years after upgrading to a windows computer from DOS I find myself missing all those classic games.  I can’t for the life of me remember how to do anything in DOS, but gosh darn it, don’t I wish I could!  You may currently be asking what has brought on this sudden bought of nostalgia for a more or less obsolete operating system (computer people, feel free to correct me should I be wrong)?  It’s quite simple really – I was talking with a 12-year-old who couldn’t even imagine a gameboy screen being so small and colorless.  Well, I had to outdo that right away, by showing him this…

Oh the memories.  I never got past the first few levels, no one I know of did.  That said, it sure didn’t stop Joy, Brian and myself from trying to beat this wonderfully challenging game.  Of course now I want nothing more than to play Captain Comic, maybe make it further than before.  Sadly I can’t find a version that will play on my computer.  Sigh. 

As with all trips down memory lane I rather rapidly found myself fondly thinking of other games I used to play and love.  There was anything by “The Learning Company.”  Classics such as Outnumbered and Treasure Mountain. 

We three (Joy, Brian and myself – as always) used to spend hours trying to be the one with the highest score. 

Last but not least there was MY game – mine because I was the one who could play it for hours, and the only one to make it to the last level.  To this day one of my favorite games, and all other versions seem cheap and silly in comparison.  What game am I talking about, why Super Tetris of course!

If I could find a version of this to download and play, I would never need another game, tv show, movie or book to keep me entertained.  Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration, but I know I would happily spend hours playing, plotting and trying to beat the damn thing!

What about you, do you have any old games that you miss?  If so, what are they?  Oh yeah, if you know where I can get a version of the above games to work with Windows 7 PLEASE let me know…I will love you forever!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Who knew it was possible to miss DOS

  1. Pingback: Not another earworm – why must they always be from the 80′s? « Kirsten's Life

  2. Mum

    I do remember. The three of you had sooo much fun. If I am not mistaken though, that nasty younger brother or yours past you? or not.

    • kirstenh

      We three were always passing each other at outnumbered, though when that computer was turfed he most like had the highest rank – being as the computer lived in his room. That said, I’m still the ranking super tetris champ on Canning!

Leave a Reply

