Robbie (and Dad’s 70th)

Back in November I spent one weekend in Oakville for my dad’s seventith (yep, 70th) birthday!  I got into town on the Friday morning (I left Halifax at 630 in the bloody morning) and didn’t leave until the following Monday evening.  Most of the time was spent relaxing and hanging out with the family.  Dad’s actuall Birthday was on the Saturday and I spent the whole day around home and we had a nice family supper.  Even my parents dog Casey hung out – granted I think he really wanted left overs of Mom’s famous chicken dinner.

One of the things I did while in town was head out to Oshawa for a day to visit one of my oldest friends and her family.  Bit (AKA Elizabeth to the rest of the world) and I have first met back in grade 6, and 17 years later we’re still great friends.  Sure we don’t get to see each other all that often anymore, what with her living in Ontario and me living in Nova Scotia, but when we do, we always make the most of it.  We share stories, memories and laughs.  We could easily stay talking for days when we do get the chance, things just continue to flow so very easily between us.  When you get down to it, Bit really is one of my closest friends and favorite people.

Several years back, Bit met, and married, a pretty awesome guy, Matthew.  As if that was great enough, just over a year ago (October 2009 to be exact) they had an insanely cute little boy…Robbie.  Sadly, in the year Robbie has been around, I have only managed to see him twice.  Once when he was just one month old, and almost exactly one year later at 13 months.  I didn’t get to take any pictures during my first visit because I managed to lose my camera on the plane earlier that day – which interesting enough was the day after I totalled my old car.  Let me tell you, I made up for it with this second visit, I took my DSLR with me and got to snapping away.

Robbie is such a character!  He’s smart, rambunctious, sweet, cute and determined all in one little body of energy and movement.  He kept us on our toes the whole time I was there.  I sure wish I was able to spend more time with him and that I could watch him grow in person instead of through photos – side note, thank goodness for Facebook!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Robbie (and Dad’s 70th)

  1. Mum

    I can’t believe how absolutly beautiful little Robbie is. Liz is also just as lovely as always. I am so happy she and Matt found each other, and created little Robbie.

Leave a Reply

