Where are the flying cars?

Didn’t movies from days gone by promise us flying cars, quick trips to the moon and awesome space suits for all by 2010?  Well, it’s now 2011 and we don’t have ANY of those…I must say, I’m rather disappointed.  Yes, we have modern medicine, and safe cars.  We have sent several people to the moon and landed a couple of rovers on Mars, but it’s not what the movies and TV shows promised us…and everyone knows if it’s on the TV is must be real.

That said, welcome 2011!  I hope you are a year full of excitement and amazing surprises, preferably not in the form of more sudden and large Vet bills for Mr. Barkis (and Oliver, though so far he’s been one healthy kitty).  I suppose I also ought to take a moment and say ‘good-bye’ to twenty ten.  There were several highlights last year, I went on several trips (Fundy Park, Cape Breton Highlands, Newfoundland, Ontario, Scotland – posts of the last three still to come), I had an awesome vacation of camping with Mayfly (Fundy), on of my really good friends married the woman of his dreams, had a stellar year of Guiding, finally discovered what it’s like to see clearly, and just enjoyed myself.  There were loads of times with friends, and a fair amount with family – after all, my Mom did come for a visit!).  I guess you could say I am a little sad to see the year go, but then again, it’s time for a fresh start…hopefully it will only get better.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Years Eve, I sure did, after all, I had Mayfly all to myself.  We went skating on the Oval, watched close to 10 episodes of M*A*S*H, and had a lovely fondue for supper.  Amazingly enough both of us made it to midnight, and both gladly headed to bed right after. 

Hello twenty eleven, it’s nice to finally meet you!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where are the flying cars?

  1. Mum

    And a very Happy New Years to you also! You are right, 2010 was a pretty good year and I got to see you twice. The weather in Oakville on Jan 1 at 10:30 is 7c and raining. No skating on the pond, however better for the polar club dip this afternoon. Lets all hope for a great 2011 and may all your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

