Daily Archives: April 12, 2010

**Shudder**

This morning I logged into my Facebook and noticed that one of my friends had sent a link to another.  I don’t know why exactly it caught my eye, but it did and then once I started reading it, my internal attraction to everything morbid – you know the same thing that makes everyone slow down at the scene of an accident – made me finish it.

One year later, and the Happy Meal still has not decomposed

One year ago blogger Joann Bruso bought a Happy Meal and proceeded to place it on her office shelf.  Why, to see what happened.  This is one year later when she opened it back up to see what happened.  Not only did it not decompose, there was no mold, no bad smells at any time, and most of it still looked like you could eat it.  Here is what Bruso had to say: “The bread is crusty and if you look closely, you will see a crack across the top. The hamburger has shrunk a bit and still resembles a hockey puck. Yet, the French fries look yummy enough to eat. I never had an odor problem, after a couple of weeks, I couldn’t even smell the fries”.

All I have to say is this, eww.  Sadly this is not the first time I’ve seen someone complete a similar experiment with the same results.  In spite of seeing it several times, and knowing just how bad for me this kind of food is there is always one small part of me that has a hard time believing it.  Maybe one of these days I will this experiment a go.  Wow I’m so glad I try to eat my own, made from scratch food.

2 Comments

Filed under Curiosities, Links