gōng xǐ fā cái (congratulations and be prosperous)

Happy Valentines!  Happy Chinese New Year!

Now that I have that part out of the way, I can talk about my Chinese New Years cupcakes!  I know my last post was also cupcake related, and I already know my next post will be cake related, but I have to post about these cupcakes!  I promise at some point I will post about either the cats or M.  Heck, I might even managed to get all three in one post!  I guess you’ll just have to wait and see.


Yesterday I hunkered down for a full day of time in the kitchen.  I pulled out a new glutenfree pound cake recipe I wanted to try and make a cake and 23 cupcakes (the cake will not be mentioned again until the next post).  Once everything was cooling on the kitchen table I started making three batches of marshmallow fondant, and attempted to tint one of those batches red.  Attempted being the key word in the above sentence.  Next time I want to use red or black (that one went just as well later) fondant I am buying the pre-colored stuff and just using that.  I don’t care if it’s considerably more expensive.  My God, that stuff was hard to try and tint, and horrible to work with after.

The whole time I was baking and fondant making I also had a tin of condensed milk simmering away in a giant pot of water.  I wanted to put a layer of caramel on each cupcake since one of my co-workers is a caramel addict.  Oh yeah, I decided to go through all this work just to bring some sort of treat into work tomorrow.  Next year I’m making cookies instead.  By the time I’d finished preparing everything (and decorating the cake I wasn’t going to mention again) and the cupcakes had cooled, the caramel was ready.  I spread a thin layer of caramel on top of each cupcake – next time I’ll use two cans – and then started trying to take the image I had in my head and turn it into a real live cupcake.  It didn’t work.  After trying for about an hour, I gave up and just slapped something together.  They came out okay looking, but nothing like what they were in my head.  Maybe in a year or two, with lots of practice, I’ll be able to make then look like my imagination allows me to create.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

