Vermont

Apparently time needs to stop getting away from me.  I thought this problem wasn’t supposed to show up until I was getting old, oh well, guess it just means I’m nice and busy.  However, it also means that it took me almost a month to get something posted about my trip to the cottage.  And what a nice trip it was.  

Turns out the cottage is even more beautiful than I realized in the Fall month.  The leaves were beginning to change, and the island has a totally different feeling to it.  It’s even more laid back and relaxed, which I didn’t know what possible.  Of course the days are shorter, the night’s colder, and the air far crisper, but you know, all of that made the place seem magical to me again.  As much as I love the cottage and North Hero, it normally doesn’t hold the same kind of magic and wonder it held for me as a child.  Going in the Fall brought it back.  Don’t get me wrong, I’d still rather be there in the Summer when I can spend every day outside warm, and in the lake, but I quite like going in the fall too.  That and hiking is much better in slightly cool temperatures than in the scorching heat of summer.

Auntie Carol, Uncle Norm and I decided to tackle a hike or two and as a result got to see some beautiful views.  The hike we took ended up being far more challenging than we expected and Aunt Carol was not able to finish it.  However Uncle Norm and I were both very stubborn and did conclude it.  When we made it to the top, we were hiking to a pinnacle, we were able to look out and see nothing but beautiful rolling mountains, a small lake, and quaint villages.  The entire hike took us about three hours, and two of those were went going up-hill.  Honestly, I found coming back down to be more challenging simply because my bad knee didn’t like it one little bit.  Oh, that was kind of painful.  On the plus, it was a lot of fun, and a great way to spend some time with Uncle Norm.

One thing that I was very happy to get to do was spend some time with Lindsay, as last year she was just so busy with work that we not really able to.  Not only did we spend a good portion of a day at the cottage chatting, walking around the point and taking photos, I also went into town to spend and evening with her.  I was able to have a nice tour of her condo, and check out some of her favorite haunts around town.  Of course she had to head back to work the next morning, but I took it as an opportunity to get up early and head into Winooski and Burlington to take some photos.  I spent a wonderful few hours limping (a couple of days after hiking) around town burning through memory cards.  Not every shot turned out, but enough to make me happy and satisfied with the morning.

I was also lucky enough to spend time with Bob and Micheline, and with Craig and Debbie.  On the first Saturday evening Bob and Micheline had the three of us over for pre-dinner drinks and snacks.  It was so nice to visit with them and to catch up.  Micheline and I got into a discussion of food, and she provided me with a couple of her favorite recipes, which I’m looking forward to attempting one day when I feel like my French is up to snuff – both are en Francais.  I really enjoyed the fact that I am now no longer one of the children, but instead am now one of the adults with the rest of them.  Sadly they were only in town for the night to try and close up, so I wasn’t able to spend much more time with them.  

Craig and Debbie I was able to spend more time with, even though for part of my week they were away in Maine.  We had wo separate nights all together in which we all chatted, laughed and enjoyed lots of great food.  On the Sunday night we headed over to Craig and Debbie’s for a great feast of kebabs and fresh corn on the cob.  At that time Craig and Debbie also gave me a key to their place so that I could come in and take care of Al and Dylan for them while they were in Maine.  For three days I went in twice a day to feed the boys and spend some time giving them love and attention.  I’m very glad that I was able to spend that time with them, as they day after I made it back to Halifax, age caught up to Al and he passed away.  On my second to last night we had Craig and Debbie over for supper.  It was another great evening, and Debbie brought a little card and present from the cats for my love and care while Mom and Dad went away to play.  

All in all, it was a fantastic week, with lots of time spent with family and friends.  I must admit, I was very happy to come home and be able to snuggle right in with my two boys, both of whom were very happy to see me again.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Vermont

  1. Pingback: Cape Breton « Kirsten's Life

Leave a Reply

