The Ovens

While this post applies to events that occurred before the arrival of Bill, I decided to post it after, as I thought the interest in Bill would be far higher.

Last Friday I had the day off so I took M to the Oven’s Natural Park.  The Ovens is a park named after several sea caves and is located in the vicinity of Lunenberg.  I had never been before, but my friend Jana and her roommate had been the previous weekend and couldn’t stop talking about how beautiful it was.  I figured it was a perfect opportunity for me to check out another area of Nova Scotia and to win even more brownie points with M.  The hike it’s self was not overly long, the two of us completed it in under and hour, and that included me stopping to take pictures, wring out the back of my shirt when M’s water bottle broke in my bag, and for me to fight with my camera when it decided it didn’t want to work right then.  

In spite of these delays we both really enjoyed the caves and M was really impressed with them.  She was a little nervous at first, but quickly warmed up to everything once I showed her that none of the look-off were going to fall down.  

After exploring the caves, we checked out the little beach where you supposedly can pan for gold, not that we ever figured out where you were supposed, or even where to get the panning supplies!  We didn’t stay there for too long, and quickly moved on to the petting zoo they had mentioned having.  Well, it wasn’t much of a petting zoo at all.  There were two Alpaca’s, a hand full of bunnies, and two chickens.  Rather disappointing.  Finally, since M was really warm at this point, she got to go for a swim in the pool.  I passed, being as while we were checking in there was a little boy that had come down to inform the staff that there were two dead mice in it.  Thanks, but no thanks.

After all this adventuring, we headed in to Lunenberg for lunch and then back home.  While all the extras weren’t anything fantastic, the mini-hike was great, and the caves were gorgeous.  They also have a campground there, and I do believe it would be a brilliant place to camp, as your morning view would be something else all together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

